Sign in to follow this  
Chris109

12 V Battery

What is the 12V battery in the trunk for?  Just the auto-trunk motor?

I thought the 12v battery in the trunk on the side was the regular battery that all cars operate with but instead of it being in the engine compartment where we are use to seeing the battery they placed it in the trunk , probably because of space restriction , so the 12v in the trunk is used to start the car and operate the heater , radio etc.  and the hybrid battery just deals with the engine operation. I am just guessing as I am not a mechanic .  

Oh jeez.  I checked the oil the other day and just glanced over to the driver side under the hood.  The Power Distribution Box could have passed as a battery cause there was a red cable and 2 clamp-looking things on the top of that box.

I thought the 12v battery in the trunk on the side was the regular battery that all cars operate with but instead of it being in the engine compartment where we are use to seeing the battery they placed it in the trunk , probably because of space restriction , so the 12v in the trunk is used to start the car and operate the heater , radio etc.  and the hybrid battery just deals with the engine operation. I am just guessing as I am not a mechanic .  

Topic moved to the Hybrid section by moderator.

Yes, probably due to space limitations.   However, the 12V battery doesn't start the ICE in the Hybrid, but it won't start if the 12v battery is dead because it controls a relay that allows power flow from the HVB. This is a safety device.  Not being needed to start the car is why the 12V battery is so small (390 CCA) in the Hybrids.

Edited by drolds1